MetroNext: A Celebration of Civic Leadership

Started in 2015, MetroNext is an annual celebration of civic leaders, where CivicAction rolls out the civic red carpet for the boldest and brightest leaders in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area (GTHA). The event shines a spotlight on extraordinary rising and established leaders in our community who share a passion for city-building and a common desire to see our region reach its full potential.

MetroNext 2016

At the second annual MetroNext Senator Ratna Omidvar took home the Lifetime Achievement Award for Civic Leadership and was praised for her longstanding commitment to making our region more inclusive, diverse and welcoming. Salima Rawji was presented with the Emerging Leader Award for her community involvement and dedication to supporting rising leaders. Thank you to our partners and all who attended for making the evening a success!

Read more here and see all pictures from the event here

MetroNext 2015

At the first annual MetroNext in 2015, over 200 established and rising leaders from across the Greater Toronto came together to celebrate civic leadership in our region. Taking home the first ever CivicAction Lifetime Achievement Award for Civic Leadership was former Mayor of Toronto and long serving board member the Hon. David Crombie. CivicAction also presented its inaugural Emerging Leader Award to Andrew Graham, co-founder of Toronto Homecoming and Borrowell who has been part of CivicAction’s Emerging Leaders Network (ELN) since 2008. Thank you to our partners for making MetroNext possible!

Read more here and see all pictures from the event here