Recent News

Groundbreaking Support for CivicAction’s “Pledge to Get a Move On”

116 GTHA political leaders from across party lines pledge to find new ways to fund investment in transportation service and infrastructure

TORONTO – June 20, 2013 – With gridlock the leading local issue in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area (GTHA), elected officials from 80% of GTHA municipalities have joined nearly 2000 residents and pledged to tackle the problem through CivicAction’s Your32 campaign.

The broad show of support is expected to grow as the issue moves front and centre at Queen’s Park. The Ontario government will soon be assessing Metrolinx’s recommended Investment Strategy of how to pay for the benefits that will come from The Big Move. CivicAction is encouraged by the number of politicians from across political lines that are committed to taking action on this issue. See the full list below.

“Politicians are acting, and not just because their constituents want them to act,” said John Tory, Chair of CivicAction. “The pledge is bringing residents and elected officials together, and I encourage everyone to make their voice heard by visiting today.”

Nearly one-third of politicians from every part of the GTHA have declared their support to find new sources of funding for transportation. They include Premier Kathleen Wynne, Minister of Transportation Glen Murray, 15 Mayors, Councillors, and MPPs and MPs from across the political spectrum.

“Congestion is taking a toll on our health, our economy, our environment, and our quality of life,” says Mitzie Hunter, CivicAction CEO. “The support of these 116 elected officials, from all levels of government and across party lines, is key to making sure our region invests in our future.”

CivicAction’s “pledge to get a move on” calls on residents and elected officials to support new sources of investment in transportation that will drive prosperity for the people who live and work in the GTHA. These sources of investment need to be dedicated, efficient, transparent & accountable, regional, fair, and sustainable.

Residents and politicians can stand together to show their commitment to action by visiting and pledging their support. 


About CivicAction’s Your32 campaign – CivicAction and its 50+ team of civic Champions and Regional Co-Captains aim to build support for a better regional transportation system and the need for new sustainable ways to pay for it. For more information, visit

About CivicAction – For the past 10 years, the Greater Toronto CivicAction Alliance (CivicAction) has brought together senior executives and rising leaders from all sectors to tackle some of our region’s toughest social, economic and environmental challenges. CivicAction sets a non-partisan agenda, builds strategic partnerships with organizations, and launches campaigns, programs and organizations that transform our region. For more information, visit:, @CivicActionGTA

To arrange a media interview or for any additional information, please contact:

Julia Lo, Senior Communications Officer, CivicAction
Office: 416-309-4480 x500
Clancy Zeifman, Project Officer, CivicAction
Office: 416-309-4480 x505

Elected Officials who have signed CivicAction’s Your32 Pledge to Get a Move On

Mayor Rick Goldring, Burlington
Councillor Marianne Meed Ward, Ward 2 Burlington
Councillor Jack Dennison, Ward 4 Burlington
Mayor Rick Bonnette, Halton Hills
Councillor Ann Lawlor, Ward 4 Halton Hills
Regional Councillor Jane Fogal, Wards 3 & 4 Halton Hills
Mayor Gordon Krantz, Milton
Councillor Sharon Barkley, Ward 1, Milton
Councillor Greg Nelson, Ward 2, Milton
Councillor Arnold Huffman, Ward 5, Milton
Councillor Mike Cluett, Ward 6, Milton
Councillor Rick Di Lorenzo, Ward 7
Mayor Rob Burton, Oakville
Regional Councillor Tom Adams, Ward 6, Oakville
Councillor Ralph Robinson, Ward 1, Oakville
Councillor Pam Damoff, Ward 2, Oakville
Councillor Marc Grant, Ward 5 Oakville

Councillor Brian McHattie, Ward 1, Hamilton
Chris Charlton, MP, Hamilton Mountain
David Christopherson, MP, Hamilton Centre
Wayne Martson, MP, Hamilton East-Stoney Creek
Monique Taylor, MPP, Hamilton Mountain

Mayor Steve Parish, Ajax
Regional Councillor Shaun Collier, Ward 1 & 2, Ajax
Regional Councillor Colleen Jordan, Ward 3 & 4, Ajax
Councillor Renrick Ashby, Ward 2, Ajax
Councillor Joanne Dies, Ward 3, Ajax
Councillor Pat Brown, Ward 4, Ajax
Councillor Wendy Partner, Ward 4, Clarington
Councillor Doug Dickerson, Ward 2, Pickering
Councillor David Pickles, Ward 3, Pickering
Councillor Peter Rodrigues, Ward 3, Pickering
Regional Councillor Don Mitchell, Whitby
Councillor Tracy Hanson, Ward 1, Whitby
Councillor Elizabeth Roy, Ward 2, Whitby

Chair Emil Kolb, Chair of Region of Peel
Regional Councillor Elaine Moore, Ward 1 & 5 Brampton
Regional Councillor John Sprovieri, Ward 9 & 10, Brampton
Councillor John Hutton, Ward 2 & 6, Brampton
Mayor Marolyn Morrison, Caledon
Regional Councillor Richard Paterak, Ward 1 Caledon
Regional Councillor Allan Thompson, Ward 2, Caledon
Regional Councillor Richard Whitehead, Ward 3 & 4, Caledon
Mayor Hazel McCallion, Mississauga
Minister Charles Sousa, MPP, Mississauga South
Councillor Patricia Mullin, Ward 2, Mississauga
Councillor Chris Fonseca Ward 3, Mississauga
Councillor Bonnie Crombie, Ward 5, Mississauga
Councillor Ron Starr, Ward 6, Mississauga
Councillor Nando Iannicca, Ward 7, Mississauga
Councillor Pat Saito, Ward 9, Mississauga

Premier Kathleen Wynne, MPP, Don Valley West
Minister Glen Murray, MPP, Toronto Centre
Minister Eric Hoskins, MPP, St. Paul’s
Michael Prue, MPP, Beaches-East York
Jonah Schein, MPP, Davenport
Cheri DiNovo, MPP, Parkdale-High Park
Laura Albanese, MPP, York South-Weston
Rosario Marchese, MPP, Trinity-Spadina
Councillor Karen Stintz, Ward 16
Councillor Ana Bailao, Ward 18
Councillor Mike Layton, Ward 19
Councillor Adam Vaughan, Ward 20
Councillor Joe Mihevc, Ward 21
Councillor Josh Matlow, Ward 22
Councillor Kristyn Wong-Tam, Ward 27
Councillor Mary-Margaret McMahon, Ward 32
Councillor Michael Thompson, Ward 47
Councillor Chin Lee, Ward 41
Matthew Kellway, MP, Beaches-East York
Andrew Cash, MP, Davenport
Kirsty Duncan, MP, Etobicoke-North
Peggy Nash, MP, Parkdale-High Park
Dan Harris, MP, Scarborough Southwest
Rathika Sitsabaiesan, MP, Scarborough-Rouge River
Carolyn Bennett, MP, St. Paul`s
Bob Rae, MP, Toronto Centre
Craig Scott, MP, Toronto-Danforth
Olivia Chow, MP, Trinity-Spadina
Chungsen Leung, MP, Willowdale
Mike Sullivan, MP, York South-Weston
Judy Sgro, MP, York West

Councillor Chris Ballard, Aurora
Councillor Paul Pirri, Aurora
Mayor Virginia Hackson, East Gwillimbury
Mayor Robert Grossi, Georgina
Deputy Mayor Danny Wheeler, Georgina
Mayor Steve Pellegrini, King
Councillor Debbie Schaefer, King
Mayor Frank Scarpitti, Markham
Deputy Mayor Jack Heath, Markham
Regional Councillor Gordon Landon, Markham
Regional Councillor Joe Li, Markham
Councillor Valerie Burke, Ward 1, Markham
Councillor Howard Shore, Ward 2, Markham
Councillor Don Hamilton, Ward 3, Markham
Councillor Carolina Moretti, Ward 4, Markham
Councillor Alan Ho, Ward 6, Markham
Councillor Logan Kanapathi, Ward 7 Markham
John McCallum, MP, Markham-Unionville
Helena Jaczek, MPP, Oak Ridges-Markham
Mayor Tony Van Bynen, Newmarket
Regional Councillor John Taylor, Newmarket
Mayor Dave Barrow, Richmond Hill
Regional Councillor Brenda Hogg, Richmond Hill
Regional Councillor Vito Spatafora, Richmond Hill
Councillor Castro Liu, Ward 3, Richmond Hill
Councillor Lynn Foster, Ward 4, Richmond Hill
Councillor Nick Papa, Ward 5, Richmond Hill
Councillor Godwin Chan, Ward 6, Richmond Hill
Mayor Maurizio Bevilacqua, Vaughan
Regional Councillor Michael Di Biase, Vaughan
Councillor Tony Carella, Ward 2, Vaughan
Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco, Ward 4, Vaughan
Alan Shefman, Ward 5, Vaughan
Mayor Wayne Emmerson,  Whitchurch-Stouffville